Home > NBA > Kevin Love – Ricky Rubio SLAM Cover

Kevin Love – Ricky Rubio SLAM Cover

When I saw this newly released SLAM cover I immediately loved it. As a previous SLAM subscriber around the time when the original Garnett/Marbury cover came out (I guess I was cooler than I thought I was in Jr High) I think this was a genius juxtaposition of the different eras of NBA that I have been through as a fan. From the jewelry to the stone-cold gansta looks to their styles of play, there couldn’t be a bigger contrast between Garnett/Marbury and Love/Rubio. These contrasts work perfectly for general attitudes of the young up-and-coming ballers of that era and this era.

Even though I was a huge Garnett fan back in his Timberwolves days, I am really hoping that Love and Rubio have more success than Garnett and Marbury. Yes, Garnett got to the West Finals that one year and lost to the Lakers, but Marbury didn’t have anything to do with that.

Either way, props to SLAM for shooting this cover. It works, and it is really hard not to be rooting for the T-Wolves this year. They are fun to watch.

Follow Matt on Twitter

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

