Home > NCAA > Sean’s NCAA Basketball Tournament Methodology: Who Can Stay Cool?

Sean’s NCAA Basketball Tournament Methodology: Who Can Stay Cool?

This Badger Means Business

If I’ve learned anything from the past few March Madness tourneys, it is that when the game is on the line, the team that can either shoot the prayer of a three, or can stay calm and make free throws late in the game, always wins. This is why I based all my bracket choices on one thing. The team with the higher combined 3-point percentage and free throw percentage wins.

I was fairly skeptical of my own theory after the first game I calculated; I had number one in the Southwest, Kansas, losing to 16 Boston U. in the first round. Then shortly after I realized the only number 2 seed to make it past the first round was Notre Dame. Things weren’t looking so good for my theory. But then things started turning around. High seeds were actually winning games they are expected to win.

It was weird when I was calculating all the teams totals and matching them up, many games came within a .1% difference. One game actually had a tie in percentage (Southwest Final, Notre Dame vs Vanderbilt) which meant there was only one way to solve the problem. Flip a coin of course. Notre Dame moved on in a hard fought battle.

Technically, for this theory to be right, all the games would have to be super close, which we all know isn’t going to happen. Either way though, I stick by my selections and hope some sharp shooting can win me this writer’s challenge.

Don't Trust This Man

Final note : Last year Pitt screwed me royally so I was glad to have them losing early this year. Thanks alot Levance Fields.

  1. March 17, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Don’t trust this man, haha

  1. March 7, 2012 at 7:07 pm
  2. March 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

Leave a Reply

